Artists in Residence

The Austrian Sculpture Park annually invites national and international artists or art students to join the debate around the concepts of sculpture and the park itself, developing new artworks for the collection.


Through mutual utilisation of the synergies created by this programme and the atelier programmes of the Land Steiermark, the artists benefit from residential studios, the profound library of the Institute for Art in Public Spaces and their curatorial expertise, which can be accessed in case of content related consensus. 




Class of Heimo Zobernig - Textual Sculpture/Akademy of fine Arts Vienna


Opening: in course of the Late Summer Celebration, on 11th September 2016, 2 pm
Curated by: Elisabeth Fiedler

In 2016, the students of Heimo Zobernig, class of Textual Sculpture, Academy of fine Arts Vienna, are invited to act as artists in residence and to examine the conception of sculpture.


The young artists examined the question: What does one make of a 'super structure'? Heimo Zobernig was invited to reproduce a public work in collaboration with Eric Kläring for the Austrian Sculpture Park in Graz (Untitled (Project space/Platform) was presented to the public on 22nd of May 2016 in the course of the Spring Celebration) and through which Zobernig’s students of the Textural Sculpture class have become artist in residence during 2016. Kläring/Zobernig have produced a concrete platform, one foot high, on top of which a ‘super structure’ has been imposed that connects and links the eclectic range of works contributed by his students. This system of display responds to the context of the sculpture park as a microcosm of a world of objects and ideas, giving a sanctuary of life to different works from different times and artistic movements. By responding to this historical-institutional structure, the Textual Sculpture group have developed their own meta-system or situation, reflecting on the unique community they share as a class through common practice and/or conflicting approaches. (Alexander Jackson Wyatt)



The presentation of the results will take place at the Late Summer Celebration on 11th of September 2016.



Simone Bader, Roland Kollnitz, Heimo Zobernig



Sasha Auerbakh

Samuel Bich

Maximilian Engel

Jennifer Gelardo

Benjamin Grodin

Philipp Grünewald

Katharina Hölzl

Anna Holtz

Nora Jacobs

Carl-Oskar Jonssen

Roland Kollnitz

Selina Lampe

Fabian Leitgeb

Laura Lintrup

Emanuel Mauthe, Florian Mayr

Billie Meskens

Jelena Micić

Cecilia Norgaard

Wolfgang Novotny

Bianca Phos

Kathi Puffer

Martyn Reynolds

Felix Scheiblauer

Ania Shestakova

Myles Starr

Julia Wallisch

Verena Walzl

Arnaud Wohlhauser

Alexander Jackson Wyatt



Austrian Sculpture Park

Thalerhofstraße 85
8141 Premstätten, Österreich
T +43-316/8017-9704


Opening Hours

April to August Mon-Sun, public holidays 10am - 8pm
September to October Mon-Sun, public holidays 10am - 6pm

Office address:

Marienplatz 1/1, 8020 Graz
Mo-Fr 9am-5pm

Requests for
guided tours: T 0316/8017- 9200