Rosegger's Birthplace Alpl: Kluppeneggerhof

Childhood home of a poet


Venue: Rosegger-Geburtshaus, Alpl

Closed 1. November 2017 until 23. March 2018.

Peter Rosegger remains one of Austria’s most popular poets. He was born the eldest of seven children in this simple 18th-century Alpine farmhouse on 31 July 1843. Living conditions were modest, to say the least: the cooking was done over a hearth in the scullery (a kind of smoke room which served as a kitchen) while the central room was used for eating and sleeping—and as a work room, too. Here, visitors can observe numerous furnishings and fixtures which testify to simple rural life in the 19th century.

Even today, the only way to get to Rosegger’s birthplace is on foot: after a half-hour walk through the Alpl woodland, a path eventually leads up to an ensemble of buildings consisting of a home, outhouses, a barn, a rural storehouse and a dried flaxen hut.

Rosegger’s texts often draw on memories of his childhood on the Alpl; in time he coined the notion of ‘Waldheimat’ (‘forest home’) for this magical place. His birthplace was also where he took his first tentative steps towards becoming a writer, an endeavour which later grew into an extensive body of literary works.

 

Impressions

The history of Rosegger’s Birthplace Alpl

In Peter Rosegger’s childhood days the “front Kluppenegger” – a property covering just over 58 joche (33.4 hectares or 82.5 acres) – was considered a medium-sized farmstead. It consisted of a farmhouse, stalls and pens for some 20 cows, 8 pigs, 25 sheep and chickens as well as several farm outbuildings such as granary barns, hay and straw stacks, a flax scutching hut and a grain mill.

The central beam in the main front room indicates that the original building was completed in 1744. And the first Roßegger arrived on the scene a short time later – the original document uses “ß” instead of “s”. This particular gentleman was Peter’s great-grandfather, who acquired the “front Kluppenegger” (first mentioned in historical records in 1493) through marriage. His son Ignaz Roßegger died at an early age but had bequeathed the farm to Lorenz Roßegger, who had yet to reach the age of majority, in 1829. Peter was born on 31 July 1843 as the son of Lorenz and Maria Roßegger.

Over the course of years, poor harvests, animal disease and sickness forced the farm into ever greater debt. Eventually, it had to be sold in 1868. The parents moved with their two youngest children into the living room at the back of the house and later on into a cottage – one traditionally kept for a farmer after passing the farm over to his heirs – by the Freßnitz stream. This little farm featured fields, meadows and agricultural buildings.

The farmstead was transferred to a number of different owners in the course of the years. On the occasion of Rosegger’s 70th birthday his friends made an unsuccessful bid to buy back his house of birth as well as the surrounding property. The attempt failed because of an asking price which they were unable to afford.

The Province of Styria acquired the Kluppeneggerhof in 1927. By that time the farmhouse was completely dilapidated and the outhouses little more than ruins. The estate manager’s house was built two years later using stones taken from the house where Rosegger was born. In the 1970s the Brechel hut and Umadumstall (“wall-to-wall outhouse”) were reconfigured and rebuilt on the basis of the remains of walls and Rosegger’s sketches in time for the 1993 Styrian Exhibition.

Rosegger-Geburtshaus, Große Stube

Requests for guided tours



We are always delighted to accept your requests for mediation and educational programmes (guided tours and workshops, etc.). Please ensure you contact us a week before your preferred date and location (Alpl or Krieglach). You can contact us during our opening hours. Phone: +43-3855/2375 and E-Mail: info-rosegger@museum-joanneum.at

more...

Also visit the Rosegger Museum in Krieglach!



The permanent exhibition in the Rosegger Museum shows letters and documents as well as pictures and writings which show among other things that Rosegger was in close contact with numerous artists of his time.

more...

Peter Rosegger Birthplace & Museum

Birthplace Alpl, Alpl 42, 8671 Alpl
Museum Krieglach, Roseggerstraße 44, 8670 Krieglach, Österreich
T +43-3855/2375
info-rosegger@museum-joanneum.at

 

Opening Hours

24. March 2018 to 31. October 2018

Rosegger's Birthplace Alpl
Tue-Sun, public holidays 10am - 4pm

Rosegger-Museum Krieglach
Tue-Sat, public holidays 10am - 4pm

Rosegger-Geburtshaus Alpl: Kluppeneggerhof

Kindheitsort eines Dichters


Ort: Rosegger-Geburtshaus, Alpl

1. November 2017 bis 23. März 2018 geschlossen

Der österreichische Volksdichter Peter Rosegger wurde am 31. Juli 1843 als erstes von sieben Kindern in diesem einfachen Bergbauernhaus aus dem 18. Jahrhundert geboren. Die Lebensverhältnisse waren äußerst bescheiden: Über der Feuerstelle in der Rauchkuchl wurde gekocht, die zentrale Stube wurde zum Essen und Schlafen, aber auch als Arbeitsraum genutzt. Zahlreiche Einrichtungsgegenstände, die ein Zeugnis des einfachen bäuerlichen Lebens im 19. Jahrhundert geben, können hier betrachtet werden.

Noch heute erreicht man das Rosegger-Geburtshaus nur zu Fuß: Ein halbstündiger Spaziergang durch die Alpler Waldlandschaft führt hinauf zum Gebäudeensemble, das aus Wohnhaus, Stallungen sowie Scheune, Feldkasten und einer Flachsdörrhütte besteht.

Peter Rosegger schöpft in seinen Texten oft aus den Erinnerungen an die Kindheit am Alpl und prägte für diesen Ort den Begriff der „Waldheimat“. In seinem Geburtshaus machte er auch erste literarische Gehversuche, denen ein umfangreiches schriftstellerisches Werk folgen sollte.

Bildergalerie

Geschichte des Rosegger-Geburtshauses Alpl

In Peter Roseggers Kindheit galt der „vordere Kluppenegger“, mit seinen etwas mehr als 58 Joch als Bauernhof mittlerer Größe. Er bestand aus dem Wohngebäude, Stallungen für etwa 20 Rinder, 8 Schweine, 25 Schafe und Hühner und mehreren Wirtschaftsgebäuden wie Getreidescheunen, Heu- und Strohstadeln, Flachsbrechelhütte und Getreidemühle.

Der Trambaum in der großen Stube verweist auf die Fertigstellung des Wohnhauses im Jahr 1744. Kurze Zeit später kam der erste Roßegger – in der ursprünglichen Schreibung des Namens mit ß –, der Urgroßvater Peters, durch Heirat auf den „vorderen Kluppenegger“, der 1493 erstmals urkundlich erwähnt wurde. Dessen Sohn Ignaz Roßegger starb früh und hinterließ 1829 dem damals noch minderjährigen Lorenz Roßegger den Hof. In der großen Stube kam am 31. Juli 1843 Peter als Sohn des Lorenz und der Maria Roßegger zur Welt.

Im Laufe der Jahre kam es durch Missernten, Viehseuchen und Krankheiten zur Verschuldung des Hofes, der 1868 schließlich verkauft werden musste. Die Eltern zogen mit den beiden jüngsten Kindern zunächst in die hintere Stube des Wohnhauses und später in das Ausgedinge am Freßnitzbach, zu welchem eine kleine Wirtschaft mit Feldern, Wiesen und Wirtschaftsgebäuden gehörte.

Das Gehöft wechselte im Laufe der Jahre mehrfach seine Besitzer. Zu Peter Roseggers 70. Geburtstag versuchten Freunde das Geburtshaus samt umliegendem Besitz zurückzukaufen, scheiterten jedoch an dem geforderten Preis.

1927 erwarb das Land Steiermark den Kluppeneggerhof. Das Wohnhaus war mittlerweile verfallen, die umgebenden Gebäude nur noch Ruinen. Zwei Jahre später wurde das Verwalterhaus errichtet, für dessen Grundfeste Steine des Geburtshauses verwendet wurden. In den 70er-Jahren wurde die Brechelhütte und anlässlich der Landesausstellung 1993 der „Umadumstall“ anhand vorhandener Mauerreste und Skizzen Peter Roseggers rekonstruiert und wieder errichtet.

Rosegger-Geburtshaus, Große Stube

Führungsanfragen



Gerne nehmen wir Ihre Anfragen zu Vermittlungsprogrammen (Führungen, Workshops etc.) entgegen – bitte kontaktieren Sie uns mindestens eine Woche vor dem gewünschten Termin und Ort (Alpl oder Krieglach). Sie erreichen uns zu den Museumsöffnungszeiten unter Telefon: +43-3855/2375 oder E-Mail: info-rosegger@museum-joanneum.at

mehr...

Besuchen Sie auch das Rosegger-Museum in Krieglach!



Entdecken Sie anhand persönlicher Alltagsgegenstände, Briefe und Dokumente interessante und amüsante Details aus Peter Roseggers Leben und Schaffen.

mehr...

Peter Rosegger Geburtshaus & Museum

Geburtshaus, Alpl 42, 8671 Alpl
& Museum, Roseggerstraße 44, 8670 Krieglach, Österreich
T +43-3855/2375
info-rosegger@museum-joanneum.at

 

Öffnungszeiten

24. März 2018 bis 31. Oktober 2018

Rosegger-Geburtshaus Alpl
Di-So, Feiertag 10 - 16 Uhr

Rosegger-Museum Krieglach
Di-Sa, Feiertag 10 - 16 Uhr