Promotion Prize of the Province of Styria for Contemporary Fine Art 2019


Opening: 28.11.2019, 7pm
Curated by: Radmila Iva Janković, MSU – Museum of Contemporary Art, Zagreb

Coordination: Günther Holler-Schuster

About Promotion Prize of the Province of Styria for Contemporary Fine Art

A prize for contemporary art was first created in Styria in 1959: the so-called ‘Joanneum Art Prize’ was awarded up until 1967 to the major representatives of Styrian modernism. In 1968 this award was re-named the ‘Art Prize of the Province of Styria’ and from 1983, the ‘Promotion Prize for Contemporary Fine Arts’ with an age limit imposed on younger artists, until 1999, at which point it was lifted. Since then, all artists who were born in Styria and have their main residence here can take part.

A competition is held, at which to begin with an art expert with international experience curates an exhibition from all the works submitted. In a further phase of the competition, prizes and stipends are awarded from the positions represented in the exhibition.


  • Förderungspreis des Landes Steiermark für zeitgenössische bildende Kunst: Total Refusal (Leonhard Müllner, Robin Klengel, Michael Stumpf)
  • Kunstankäufe durch das Land Steiermark: Julia Gaisbacher
  • Zwei Arbeitsstipendien des Landes Steiermark: Nayarí Castillo, Lena Violetta Leitner
  • „con-tempus“-Preis (Arbeitsstipendium): Lotte Schreiber
  • Viktor-Fogarassy-Preis (Arbeitsstipendium): Susanna Flock


Neue Galerie Graz

8010 Graz, Österreich
T +43-316/8017-9100


Opening Hours
24. December 2020 to 08. February 2021 closed.
09. February 2021 to 31. December 2021 Tue-Sun, public holidays 10am - 5pm

Guided tours: 
Sun, public holidays 2pm (ger). Times may vary. For specific dates, please visit our calendar. Guided tours also on advance notice

Library Opening Hours
Tues and Thurs 10am-3pm and by appointment (times may vary)

OHO! Opening hours
Tues - Sat 10am - 12pm


5th April 2021
24th May 2021
1st November 2021

16th February 2021
24th/25th December 2021